Banner Image
Skip to main content
Banner image showing a face in the library.

Sydney TAFE Heritage Collection: Home

Image Gallery

Technological Museum

Click to view more items

Stonework carving designs

Click to view more items

Students drying leather

Click to view more items

Welding demonstration during WWII

Click to view more items

Hair perming machine

Click to view more items

Fashion parade at ESTC

Student fashion show

Click to view more items

Welcome

Welcome to the Sydney TAFE

Heritage Collection Guide

The Sydney TAFE Heritage Collection Guide opens a window into the past allowing public access to records relating to the history of TAFE NSW and, in particular, Sydney TAFE, fondly remembered by many people as Sydney Technical College or ‘Sydney Tech’.  As the oldest continuous vocational education and training institution, Sydney TAFE’s rich history dates back to the 19th century and the Sydney Mechanics’ School of Arts.

This Guide showcases records held in our collections based on a wide range of themes, for example: ‘Architecture & Design’ and ‘War & Peace. Our digital repository system enables access to these records with full and detailed descriptions as well as images straight to your desktop.

About the Collection

With a strong connection to the history of Sydney TAFE, Ultimo College Library manages and documents the ongoing history of TAFE NSW with special attention to Sydney TAFE and its predecessor Sydney Technical College. The Library also provides information assistance to TAFE staff and the public.

There are two distinct collections housed at the Library: the Sydney Institute (SI) Heritage Collection and the TAFE History Collection, collectively known as the Sydney TAFE Heritage Collection. The Collection consists of different types of material:

  • Printed books and journals, e.g. annual reports, published books and handbooks
  • Visual and digital material, e.g. photographs, objects, artworks, maps, plans, instructional equipment and sound recordings
  • Documents and unpublished material, e.g. manuscripts and documents used by individuals and the organisation

Ultimo College Library will endeavour to add new acquisitions, content and make necessary changes to this Guide periodically. Use this form to contribute your story to our history. Access to the Collection is by appointment only.

For all enquiries, please contact us by email or visit Ultimo College Library, Building D. View our opening hours and find us by map.

Ultimo College Library welcomes your feedback or comments about this site and the Collection.

Library Contact

TAFE NSW 

Ultimo College Library

Building D, Mary Ann Street
Ultimo NSW 2007
Sydney Australia

Phone: (02) 9217 3317
Fax: (02) 9217 4020

Email address: SIhistory@tafensw.edu.au

Visit the Library's website for more information:

Ask Us widget button

Other TAFE Historical Collections

You may be also interested in the history and development of

Important Notices

ANZAC Day Ceremony at TAFE NSW Ultimo College

Where: Ultimo TAFE Memorial (located between Buildings D and C (The Muse)

Date: Wednesday 26 April at 12:40pm - arrive by 12:30pm

Please be advised we undertake scheduled weekend maintenance of our systems throughout the year and during this time you may experience problems accessing records from this site.

This website is best viewed in Google Chrome.

Next Scheduled Maintenance: